Mera Bharat Mahan


…Here is another gem from A-Rod. In the light of recent events she has recast the Student’s Pledge which appears on every textbook in Maharashtra, by substituting India with Maharashtra (and other subtle additions) to read as follows:
  
Maharashtra is my country and only Maharashtrians are my brothers and sisters. 

I love my country and I am proud of its rich and varied heritage. 

I shall always strive to be worthy of it (by dissing everyone who is not a Maharashtrian).
 
I shall give respect to my parents, teachers and elders (assuming that they are all Maharashtrians) and treat everyone (ditto as before) with courtesy.
 
To my country and my people, I pledge my devotion (the rest can go take a walk to other parts of India). 

In their well being and prosperity alone, lies my happiness.”

The Economic Times;31/10/08
3 thoughts on “Mera Bharat Mahan

Leave a Reply

